Giant Sand Castle

How enormous is that castle on the left of the picture? I took the photo on Rhyl beach. I used to go to Rhyl all the time when I was a kid and I remember it being really nice. I used to make sand castles back then in the good old days. When I go there now I see a faded, shabby, broken-down town. It’s heart-breaking really. A lot of these coastal seaside towns have struggled since the growth of affordable air travel in the seventies. Why go to crap town in Britain for your holiday and get rained on when you can go to a crap town in Spain and get sunburnt? I was also distraught to see that Rhyl Sun Centre had closed down. This was a big, beach themed swimming pool that I went to so many times as a boy. There’s something really poignant about abandoned leisure attractions. Maybe I’m just looking at the place through a haze of nostalgia because back then I was a nipper with no worries or responsibilities as opposed to now when I have a job, a house, a car, and plenty of bills. I’m a bit of a sucker for nostalgia even nostalgia isn’t as good as it used to be. Still had a nice day on the beach though and it didn’t rain once. Thanks to Alice, I even got to make sand castles like a I did in the good old days.

2 thoughts on “Giant Sand Castle

Leave a Reply

