Standing in the wrong place at the wrong time.

shuttlecockA shuttlecock shot into my eye and shattered my hard contact lens while it was still in my eye. I’ve been playing badminton for years and never sustained any injury at all but last night I must have been standing in the wrong place at the wrong time. At first I just thought that the lens had slipped off the centre of my eye but when I took it out I realised that a fragment of it was missing! I had to leave the game immediately and drive home (lucky the leisure centre where I play is only 5 minutes from where I live). By the time I got home my eye felt tender but not too bad. I was panicking, though, because I had only retrieved part of the lens from my eye. What if the other part was still in there? What if it had shattered into a few tiny pieces? What if the fragment(s) were floating about in there waiting to dig into the soft part of my eye and create pain and screaming and hysteria (in that order). I decided to head down to the walk in medical centre to get it checked out. As I got into the car I noticed light shining from something on the driver’s seat; it was the other part of the lens. Relief ensued. The only pain I will be suffering is the pain in my wallet when I have to fork out for a new lens. Ouch.

 

Leave a Reply

