The Olympic Party.

 

How could I struggle for something to write about when the Olympic Games is going on on my doorstep? I’m not a great sports fan but this is probably the only occasion in my lifetime that the Games will come to Britain so I decided to try to make the most of it. Even Orange Polo got a patriotic make over (see pic).

 

Throwing good taste out of the window we adopted an Olympic theme and had a launch night party with the opening ceremony blasting out on TV at full volume! Danny Boyle (director of Slumdog Millionaire, 127 Hours, Trainspotting, 28 Hours, 28 Days, Sunshine, The Beach) made the ceremony utterly breathtaking and made himself into a national hero. Many people had thought that it would be a disaster and compare badly with that of the Beijing Games. Boyle shrewdly sidestepped any comparison by making his version completely different and quirkily British.

PARTY FOOD GOT ATE

 

We’re had almost two weeks of the Games now (closing ceremony Sunday) and it’s been a great experience for most people. British competitors have thrown themselves into it and come away with our biggest ever medal tally. I think it’s been a good Games for all nationalities though. In Britain we’ve had 24 extra TV channels which have broadcast every moment of every competition totally live. People love knocking the BBC but I think it’s done an amazing job. I’ve especially liked the badminton because I play it, I’ve liked the tennis because we won it, and I’ve liked the women’s volleyball because… well never mind that.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

