On this particular DD/MM/YYYY, I love this track

I don’t know if you’re the same way but with music I tend to hear a track, fall in love with it, play it a million times a day, get sick of it, leave it alone for a few weeks, fall in love with another track…. etc etc. At the moment I utterly, completely, all-encompassing-ly (that can’t actually be a word, surely) worship a track by a band called DD/MM/YYYY.

I know I have a hard sell on my hands here because, number one, you won’t have heard of this band; number two, you won’t know how to pronounce their name (you’re supposed to say “Day, Month, Year”); number three, the title of the track I love is even more obscure than the name of the band ‘Teenageartfagcancerfanclub’

To make matters worse this track has a really off-putting start; it basically sounds like some annoying young people shouting ‘one, two, three, four, five…‘ over and over again. And again. And again. But it’s the instrumental bit afterwards that I completely love. I don’t know why. It’s just sublime. If you listen to this track, listen to that part before you decide if you like it. Also, the lyric ‘the only thing we are is what we are‘ doesn’t do any harm. Don’t ask me why, it just gets me.

I blame Spotify for all this. I’ve started listening to Spotify each night and it gives suggestions along the lines of  ‘if you like this, you might like….’ So you begin by listening to the same stuff you always listen to but then you get curious and you try a couple of the suggested tracks (knowing that it costs you nothing helps nurture your spirit of adventure I suppose). And you end up loving stuff by obscure bands from Toronto. Sorry.

Anyway, back to my current dream track. I know next to nothing about DD/MM/YYYY except that they are from Toronto. I don’t even like many of their other tracks that much. But ‘Teenageartfagcancerfanclub’ is simply superb. I’ve embedded a version of it from YouTube below if you want to try it.

Don’t worry, I’ll be back on Elvis Costello next week.

 

 

DO YOU LOVE THIS TRACK AS MUCH AS I DO? DO YOU DESPISE IT WITH EVERY FIBRE OF YOUR BEING? DO YOU HAVE TRACKS WHICH YOU WORSHIP? IF SO, WHAT ARE THEY? I NEED TO KNOW. LEAVE A COMMENT!

Leave a Reply

