Fahrenheit 451 is hot!

I’m currently reading Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. It’s a famous book by a famous author and I suppose that’s part of why I started reading it; a feeling that I ought to read it. The book has become an old classic (so has the author) and when I start reading a book with that knowledge it usually feels like a bit of a slog. Fahrenheit 451 is NOT a bit of a slog. It is shockingly, breathtakingly, frighteningly brilliant

It’s set in the future and revolves around a fireman who is employed to burn books… all books. Paper combusts at 451 degrees fahrenheit. The book is full of themes that are completely relevant to the contemporary world that it is hard to believe that it was written in the late fifties.

Since starting to read it I’ve looked up Ray Bradbury on YouTube and he seems like an intelligent and inspiring person. His advice to aspiring writers is to write one short story every week for a year!! He reckons it is physically impossible to write 52 crap ones.

17 thoughts on “Fahrenheit 451 is hot!

  1. I really need to reread Farenheit 451. I read it about nine years ago, and was completely floored. And, there being only three chapters, I finished it in a night.

    Have you read many of his short stories?

    I should try his short story a week idea.

    Like

  2. It’s a great book isn’t it? I haven’t read any of his other stuff but I certainly will after this one. I have so many books on my To Read list that I wish I could read faster!

    Btw, someone recently recommended a website called Goodreads to me where you get book recommendations, reviews etc from your friends. I’m going to register and see what its like. If you do too, make me a friend.

    Thanks for reading.

    Like

  3. I’ll have to check out Goodreads! I’ve heard good things about it.

    I really enjoyed The Halloween Tree, The Martian Chronicles and The Illustrated Man. I need to read more of his books. Bradbury has such an interesting way of using words.

    Like

  4. F451 is incredibly prescient. Books are still with us, fortunately. But programs that encourage the audience to participate – reality TV, anyone?
    If you’re just discovering Bradbury, you’re in for many hours of great reading. He did a story (maybe more than one) about a family that contains vampires, werewolves, all the creatures of the night – except that the youngest son is just a plain mortal.
    Off the top of my head, anthologies of his short stories include The Golden Apples Of The Sun, The October Country, and S is for Space.
    As a parent, Jon, you will find The Playground very unsettling…

    Like

  5. I don’t know how I’ve managed to avoid RB until now. Sometimes when an author has legendary status it frightens me off. I think I still have a reflex reaction to the word ‘classic’ that makes me think ‘dull’ (one of the few things I learned at school). I’m excited now that there’s such a lot of RB stuff to read now that I lost my virginity. So to speak.

    Thanks for reading. Have noted your reading recommendations

    Like

  6. This is one of my favourite ‘old school’ sci-fi novels. In fact it transcends genre anyway and is just a damn great book. I think there’s a film version but no idea if it does it justice.

    Like

  7. Hi Steven. Started watching the film version (made in the 60s I think and starring Oscar Werner) on YouTube or VeeTV; can’t remember which. It was so jaw-droppingly awful that I couldn’t get to the end. Big let down.

    I find that often my favourite books don’t make great films. I like books with a lot of inner dialogue (should that be monologue? Not sure) and that’s hard to put on screen. My all time favourite book is ‘Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man’ by Joyce. Pure stream of consciousness. That aint going to get filmed any time soon.

    Thanks for the comments!

    Like

  8. I haven’t seen the ‘Portrait’ film but I have watched the late 60s attempt to put ‘Ulysses’ on the big screen. Very bizarre, but so is the book. Not sure it helped me understand the workings of Joyce’s mind any better but was intriguing to see them try and paint it across the screen.

    Like

      1. Slaughterhouse 5 is funny and odd. It’s part memoir, part sci-fi flight of fantasy, as is often the case with Vonnegut. I love it but it’s not to everyone’s taste.

        Like

Leave a Reply

