“Have you written a book?!” Yeah. Sorry about that.

I’m still getting a ridiculous, childish kick out of seeing my book in print. It seems to have gone down really well and has sold better than I expected it to (mind you, I only expected it to sell six). Its weird though; the main motivation for writing it was never to make money (just as well; profits are currently running at £14!). It just felt like something I had to do.

People have come up to me in work and said ‘have you written a book?!!’ Family, friends and some people I haven’t seen in years have ordered it after seeing it mentioned on the net (thanks Mark, Sharon and Brian especially!). I was so used to having the book as a private thing inside my head that when people started asking me about it, it felt very strange. Its like someone has just read your innermost thoughts.

A couple of people who have finished the book have asked me about some of the things that are left unanswered (if you’ve not read it, skip this paragraph). Firstly; who was driving the Fiesta with the flame transfers and, secondly, what does L.P.I stand for as it crops up a few times? And of course there’s the obvious questions of why the characters are being stopped from leaving Ghost Road, who is holding them there, and what exists outside? I think its probably best I don’t answer these questions explicitly although the answers are actually all in there. The books I love best don’t offer easy answers but let readers make up their own theories and I wanted this to be a bit like that.

Overall I’m pleased with the book. It was supposed to be a fast-moving, scary and thought-provoking ghost story and so far people seem to have enjoyed it on those levels. I don’t know if writers always feel like this but when I read through I always see things I could have done better or things that I should have put in/omitted. Anyway its too late now; the thing is out there! The only thing I can do now is make a start on the next one!

IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO BUY A COPY OF ‘GHOST ROAD’ YOU CAN GET IT FROM AMAZON. CO.UK, (AMAZON.COM IN US) FOR £10.99 OR LULU.COM FOR £8.79.

Go to amazon to buy; http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ghost-Road-Jon-Kenna/dp/1446186903/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1288907087&sr=8-1

or buy for less at lulu.com;

http://www.lulu.com/product/paperback/ghost-road/12674982

 

2 thoughts on ““Have you written a book?!” Yeah. Sorry about that.

Leave a Reply

