Toy Story 3: Plastic Fantastic

NO SPOILERS CONTAINED BELOW. We went to see Toy Story 3 today.  Little Alice was not only clutching a replica plastic Buzz but was also dressed like him (see below). I was dressed like a sort of scarecrow doll with scruffy hair and the stuffing coming out of him although of course I always dress like that. We loved the first and second Toy Story films and so were looking forward to seeing this latest instalment.

Usually I hate kids’ films. When Stuart Little is on I feel like drinking rat poison. But even I love the Toy Story films. The first one was great, the second even better… I couldn’t imagine how the third one would keep up the standard.

Well, it starts off with an action sequence set in the Wild West which is great fun. And the first half of the film is pretty good with the usual funny lines and inventiveness. This did not prepare me for the rollercoaster ride which came in the second half. I feel like a real wuss saying this but the climax of the movie  is so heart rending, so utterly touching on an emotional level that it had me wiping tears away on Alice’s purple Buzz Lightyear skullcap. At one point I almost dropped my Doritos (not something any grown man wants to do in public). This film is astonishingly clever, not just technically with its superb animation but also with its perceptive portrayal of human emotion. I’m not giving too much of the plot away by saying that there’s this scene where the toys are inside a furnace and facing their own deaths; that scene is so powerful, so moving and yet so understated… it made me want to sob like a Tiny Tears. I had to make a real effort to get a grip before the cinema lights came up. Truth is Woody, Buzz, Jessie, Rex, Ham and the others are brilliantly drawn (in every sense of the phrase) and, even though they’re toys, they are some of the least plastic, most human characters you’ll find in any film, kid’s or otherwise.

3 thoughts on “Toy Story 3: Plastic Fantastic

  1. I was planning to pass on this one, but you may have persuaded me – to see it on disc, anyhow. The writing was a strong point in 1 and 2 – many moments had me wondering (almost shouting in frustration) why Hollywood can’t produce such first-rate scripts for flesh and blood characters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

