Respect to Peter Falk

THIS ENTRY WAS WRITTEN BEFORE THE SAD DEATH OF PETER FALK. FOR AN UP TO DATE TRIBUTE PLEASE SEE THE LEAD ARTICLE ON THIS BLOG’S HOME PAGE

How sad that Peter Falk who played the ultimate in brainy cops Columbo has ended up getting dementia and stumbling around LA in a state of confusion. He was one of the best actors ever. Did you see him in those John Cassavetes films? He was amazing! Part of the work I do involves helping people who have dementia and I find it one of the most upsetting parts of my job. Even so, the people I know who have this awful condition are some of the nicest I’ve ever met.

15 thoughts on “Respect to Peter Falk

  1. Firstly Jon I have to applaud your choice of career. I have had no contact to speak of with dementia sufferers but I imagine that it can be incredibly demanding.
    Regarding Peter Falk – I actually thought I’d read his obituary a couple of years ago. But no, he is with us yet, although in this sadly reduced condition.

    Like

  2. Yeah it is rewarding to work with people with mental health problems although I personally find it quite hard to deal with dementia patients. The progression of it is pretty quick sometimes and its like having to watch someone deteriorate in front of your eyes. I like to think that it is actually less upsetting for the sufferer than the person who cares for that person. Apparently Peter Falk doesn’t even remember playing Columbo so maybe he’s not aware of his worsening condition. I hope not. Most of my work is with people who have either schizophrenia, bi-polar disorder, depression or personality disorder.

    Like

  3. i think it’s awesome what you’re doing. i could never work with people who have mental health problems. i think i am too emotional for a job like this.
    dementia is the worst… my grandfather had it too. it was awful to watch him being like that because he never wanted help from anyone and then he had to learn to accept help which really wasn’t easy for him and us (his family).

    Like

    1. Yeah dementia is upsetting. I find it difficult to deal with too. I like working with other mental health clients though. I just find psychology really interesting, especially abnormal psychology! Sorry to hear about your grandfather. Its a devastating condition for the patient and their whole family.

      Like

      1. i think it’s great that you think that because not everyone could do your job. i have the greatest respect for everyone like you.
        yeah, it was but i felt more sorry for him than for us because he was always so indepent and he hated to depend on someone else even though it was his family.

        Like

  4. That’s nice to hear especially as there’s still a stigma against people with mental health problems. The people I’ve worked with have been some of the nicest I’ve ever met.

    Like

  5. if you had any respect you’d remove this photo and let him pass with dignity. i find it hard to believe you work in this field yet feel it’s ok to exploit this man. shame on you.

    Like

    1. Fair comment. I assure you that wasn’t my intention as I’m a huge fan. This photo was posted a long time ago, long before this sad day. However I can see that it might be respectful to remove it so I shall. Sorry if it caused offence

      Like

  6. My name is Perry Grant I live in England, I was very sorry to hear of the passing of Peter Falk, he was one of the best actors around and I for one will miss his fumbling detective creation “Columbo”

    I’ve watched most of his movies and probably all the Columbo shows.

    It’s a sad day for sure, the loss of another great personality.

    Like

Leave a Reply

